Beer & Diapers

Memoirs of a millennial dad

Requiem for the Christmas Tree

Tonight I finally took the DeWeese family Christmas down from the stand, cut it into thirds, and laid it to rest in the yard waste bin. Kate and I had stripped off all the decorations several days ago, but I hadn’t gotten around to then taking the bare tree down. It always feels like a last acknowledgment that Christmas won’t be back for another 12 months.

In memory of this year’s tree, I thought I would share a little about the fun Kate, Daniel and I had picking it out at our friend’s tree farm. And the hassle it took to get it set up. The DeWeese family went to go pick out our tree at the Sprouffske farm in early December. It was one of those perfectly hazy winter days. On the drive out to Rainier, we passed past farmland and forest enshrouded in freezing mist. The mist gave a certain feeling of pre-Christmas mystery, of wondering what the next few weeks would hold. Jonathan and Shelley warmly welcomed us for a holiday get-together, and Shelley did a great job of taking the DeWeese family photo. It was then time to go out into the fields and pick out our tree. The sun had begun to burn away the mist and I was struck by the beauty of long lines of Christmas trees, with the shadow of Mount Rainier in the background.

Of course, the best part about the experience was watching Daniel and Mommy go find the perfect tree as I walked a few paces behind, handsaw at the ready. It’s not all that often I get to feel super macho as a suburban dad. But in that moment as I haul our tree back to the car for the long ride home to Tacoma, I’m proud of the fact that I’m not one of THOSE dads who just goes and picks a tree out from the corner lot.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

